Support Fort St John News

Interested in Local Politics?

Sign up for our weekly newsletter Peace Politics to keep tabs on councils across Northeast B.C.

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. — Former Peace River Regional District (PRRD) board chair Brad Sperling has submitted his nomination papers for the district’s Area C by-election next month.

Sperling was the incumbent Director for Area C going into the 2022 election and was beaten by Suzanne Haab by three votes after a recount. Before the recount, Sperling was the winner by one vote.

After the recount, the PRRD petitioned to check the validity of the election. The Supreme Court ruled the election invalid due to discovering that ballots for Area C had been issued to those outside the area, which may have affected the results.

Sperling is the first candidate to submit his nomination papers. At the time of publishing, no other nominees have come forward for the by-election yet.

Nominations for the Area C by-election opened on January 10th and remain open until January 20th.

The by-election will be held on February 25th.

Area C includes six unincorporated towns in the Peace River region, including Baldonnel, Charlie Lake, Clairmont, Grandhaven, Old Fort, and Two Rivers.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading! is the voice of the Peace, bringing issues that matter to the forefront with independent journalism. Our job is to share the unique values of the Peace region with the rest of B.C. and make sure those in power hear us. From your kids’ lemonade stand to natural resource projects, we cover it – but we need your support. Give $10 a month to today and be the reason we can cover the next story. 

More stories you might like

Avatar photo

Katherine Caddel is a recent graduate of Laurentian University's English Media and Rhetoric program. They grew up in Northern Ontario and recently decided to make the North Peace their new home. When not at work, Katherine enjoys horror movies, playing video games and Dungeons and Dragons.