FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – Judy Desjarlais has been elected as Chief of the Blueberry River First Nation.

Friday evening, the five family councillors elected on Thursday voted for who would be Chief of the First Nation. Desjarlais received three votes compared to two for Marvin Yahey.

During the election on Thursday, the community voted for five councillors. Robin Ewaskow, Troy Wolf, Wayne Yahey, Sherry Dominic, and Shelley Gauthier were elected.

Gauthier received the most votes, with 85 votes, and was elected family councillor for the late Edward Apsassin family. Yahey had 31 votes, representing the late Charlie Yahey family, and Ewaskow received 23 votes, representing the late Daniel Apsassin family.

Wolf received six votes, earning him the position for the late Jack Wolf family, and Dominic was elected for the late Pete Davis family with 16 votes.