Conservative candidate to be chosen in March


Dates and locations to vote for the new federal Conservative candidate for the Prince George-Peace River riding have been decided.

Speeches and voting will take place at six separate locations throughout the riding from March 7 until March 11.

Voting will begin on March 7 at the Woodlands Inn & Suites in Fort Nelson, starting at 7 p.m.

The other voting dates and locations will be:

March 8 – Pomeroy Hotel in Fort St. John starting at 7 p.m.

March 9 – George Dawson Inn in Dawson Creek starting at 7 p.m.

March 10 – Community Centre in Tumbler Ridge starting at 10 a.m. and the Recreation Centre in Mackenzie, starting at 7 p.m.

March 11- Ramada Downtown in Prince George starting at 7 p.m.

All polling stations will be open for two hours.  Candidate speeches will begin at 6 p.m. before polls officially open.

The riding association will be providing two chartered buses for residents in both Chetwynd and McBride to take them to the Dawson Creek and Prince George voting locations, respectively.

The Chetwynd bus will leave the IGA on March 9 at 6:15 p.m. and the McBride bus will leave the village office on March 11 at 5:15 p.m.

Anyone who was a member of the Conservative party as of Feb. 14 will be eligible to vote.

There are currently seven nominees running for the Conservative candidacy. The seven nominees are Dan Davies, Don Irwin, Colin Kinsley, Jerrilyn Schembri, Les Shurtliff, Cameron Stolz and Bob Zimmer.

The official candidate will be chosen using a preferential voting system, says Chad Anderson, president of the Conservative Prince George-Peace River Riding Association. Anderson says the new Conservative candidate should be announced by either late in the evening on March 11 or early on March 12, once all the votes are counted.

The NDP and the Green party already announced their riding candidates back in November. So far, there has not been a by-election called for the riding.

However, according to Elections Canada, a by-election must be called within 180 days of a Member of Parliament stepping down in a riding. Jay Hill officially resigned as MP for the riding on Oct. 25.

For more information on the voting process, click here.

Do you have a news tip or a story idea?

Send it our way!

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.