This holiday season, all of our Supporters are entered to win an $800 Shopping Spree Giveaway!

PEACE RIVER, B.C. — Six departing Peace River Regional directors were recognized for their years of service during their final board meeting on Thursday.

Karen Goodings has retired as director in Electoral Area B after 34 years in local government. The PRRD says she was a strong voice for her constituents and region and wishes her well in her retirement.

Fort St. John mayor Lori Ackerman has retired from politics after five terms as the municipal director after beginning her tenure in 2002.

Rob Fraser was the Mayor of the District of Taylor for two terms, starting in 2014.

Keith Bertrand was the District of Tumbler Ridge municipal director for two terms.

Barb Smith was the municipal director of the Village of Pouce Coupe for one term.

Dale Bumstead, municipal Director for the City of Dawson Creek, served for eight years, from 2014 to 2022.

The PRRD thanked all the directors for their work as “committed community champions” and asked the public to help in wishing them the best in their new ventures.

**An earlier version of this article includes the wrong last name for Mayor Fraser. The error has been corrected.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading!

This holiday season, we want to give back to the people who have supported us this year!

We have partnered with local businesses to create an $800 Shopping Spree Giveaway! One of our Supporters will win the giveaway on December 2 and anyone who becomes one by December 1 will be entered to win as well.

More stories you might like

Avatar photo

Katherine Caddel is a recent graduate of Laurentian University's English Media and Rhetoric program. They grew up in Northern Ontario and recently decided to make the North Peace their new home. When not at work, Katherine enjoys horror movies, playing video games and Dungeons and Dragons.