Dawson Creek finalizes list of candidates for local election

DAWSON CREEK, B.C.–The nomination period has closed for the local government election in Dawson Creek with 11 candidates for council and two for mayor.

There is one seat available for mayor and six for council. 

Darcy Dober, first-term councillor, will run against third-term councillor Shaely Wilbur. Dawson Creek’s former mayor, Dale Bumstead, announced his early retirement effective on Friday. He announced he would not run for mayor again in February.

Candidates for council include incumbents Jerimy Earl, Amy Kaempf, and Charlie Parslow. Sue Kenny, who has served on council in a previous term, will also run. 

Newcomers to council seeking one of the six seats include Gregg Apolonio, April Cire Floriant, Kyle MacDonald, Johanna Martens, Aaron Rogers, Michael Sudnik, and Raistlin Van Spronsen. 

Thanks for Reading!

Energeticcity.ca is the voice of the Peace, bringing issues that matter to the forefront with independent journalism. Our job is to share the unique values of the Peace region with the rest of B.C. and make sure those in power hear us. From your kids’ lemonade stand to natural resource projects, we cover it–but we need your support.


Give $10 a month to Energeticcity.ca today and be the reason we can cover the next story.

Don't miss a news

story with our daily email!

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.