The Fort St. John Huskies are the NWJHL champions for the third season in a row.

The Huskies took the Senators Cup series 4-2 after the 3-1 win on Saturday in Grande Prairie.

Scoring was opened by Cayden Frenette in the first period, but the lead was short lived after the Kings’ lone goal to tie things up before heading into the second.

The 2022 champions scored their final two goals of the game in the second period, coming from Jared Winkel and Colby Busche.

Prior to the beginning of the pandemic, that cancelled the last two season, the Huskies had won the cup against the Kings in 2019 and the North Peace Navigators in 2018.

The Energetic City club is now headed to Wainwright, Alberta for the Junior B provincials from March 31st to April 3rd.

Avatar photo

Adam Reaburn is the owner of Moose FM and Adam has been working in broadcasting for over 20 years. Adam and his wife Tammy have lived in Fort St. John for over 18 years.