Support Fort St John News

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – The winners of the 2021 Dawson Creek Community Awards have been selected.

Mayor Dale Bumstead announced the winners in a Facebook Live video on Friday.

The Community Awards began in 2016. Awarded at the end of each year and based on nominations and criteria approved by Council, the awards recognize dedicated citizens and businesses that benefit the community.

The Community Awards have a three-week nomination process and a three-week voting window.

The winners of the 2021 Dawson Creek Community awards are as follows:

Youth of the Year: Addison Webb

Entrepreneur of the Year: Amanda Morgan with AMerge Party Shop

Business of the Year: Beans & Barley

Citizen of the Year: Ed Mah

Inclusive Workplace of the Year: Dave’s No Frills

“The City of Dawson Creek values the efforts of individuals or businesses who have significantly contributed to the community of Dawson Creek. Council wishes to provide recognition awards to these outstanding citizens and businesses and has established policy to ensure that awards are made in a fair and consistent manner,” reads a release on the Community Awards program.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading! is the voice of the Peace, bringing issues that matter to the forefront with independent journalism. Our job is to share the unique values of the Peace region with the rest of B.C. and make sure those in power hear us. From your kids’ lemonade stand to natural resource projects, we cover it – but we need your support. Give $10 a month to today and be the reason we can cover the next story. 

More stories you might like