FSJ Grizzlies lacrosse all smiles after unusual season

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – The Fort St. John Grizzlies Lacrosse Association capped off its pandemic season with a f…

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – The Fort St. John Grizzlies Lacrosse Association capped off its pandemic season with a fun skills competition for all teams on Thursday.

Thursday’s skills competition was the first of its kind for the Grizzlies, and President Annika Hedican says it will be back.

“The players seemed to really enjoy it. I think it’s something that will become an annual thing. It was a nice way to end the season that was filled with so many restrictions and uncertainty,” says Hedican.

When the season started at the end of winter, the hope was that restrictions would allow for games this year.

“Unfortunately, our season was winding down right when things started opening up. At least a few teams were able to have some inter-squad games before the end. Despite everything, we had a good turnout this year of new and returning players. We hope they learned a lot, had fun, and come back next year!”

The Grizzlies’ AGM was held Wednesday, and President Annika Hedican announced she would vacate the position to focus on creating a senior division for players to have somewhere to play beyond the minor lacrosse system.

“I have loved my time as President, and I hope I served our community well. It has been my pleasure working with everyone to help grow this sport in our community.”

Paul Milne will take the helm as league President in August, but Hedican says there are still some positions that need to be filled before next season.

“We are still looking for a Registrar. We can’t start the season without one, as well as a Vice President and Equipment Director.”

Hardest shot: Alexander Robson

Accuracy shooting: Dade Randall

Fastest runner: Julian Toews

Hardest shot: Corbin Newsham

Accuracy shooting: Levi Ekkel

Fastest runner: Levi Ekkel

Lacrosse-Golf: Joslin Campbell

Hardest shot: Aaron Raab

Accuracy shooting: Aurora Fogerty

Fastest runner: Aurora Fogerty

Top goalie: Connor McCoy

Hardest shot: Weston Carpentor

Accuracy shooting: Emmett McCue

Fastest runner: Emmett McCue

Shootout: Corbin Dunham

Hardest shot: Kolton Bigras

Accuracy shooting: Chaz Lucas

Fastest runner: Kayden Raab

Top goalie: Breton MacPherson

Hardest shot: Parker Hedican

Accuracy shooting: Cameron Ferris

Fastest runner: Colin Szoo

Top goalie: Kaydence Davis

Do you have a news tip or a story idea?

Send it our way!

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.