VICTORIA, B.C – The province extended non-essential travel restrictions until June 15th during the announcement of its restart plan on Tuesday.

In the province’s plan, non-essential travel between the three regional zones is still in place until mid-June. These regions are as follows: Lower Mainland/ Fraser Valley, Vancouver Island, and Northern/Interior.

At the discretion of police, a $575 fine will be issued to those who do not follow the new restrictions, according to Minister of Public Safety Mike Farnworth in April.

When stopped at a travel road check, police can ask for:

If police determine a vehicle is travelling is for non-essential reasons, police will instruct the driver to turn the vehicle around and return to the region they came from.