FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – Newly-elected Councillor Jim Lequiere was officially sworn into office at the Regular Meeting of Council Tuesday.

Lequiere won the seat vacated by former Councillor Becky Grimsrud.

The new council member joins Mayor Lori Ackerman, Trevor Bolin, Lilia Hansen, Gord Klassen, Byron Stewart, and Tony Zabinsky in the city chambers.

According to the official results, Lequiere won with 474 votes, edging Sarah MacDougall by 92 ballots. There were 180 votes cast for Tom Whitton, 140 for Trystan Jones, and 64 for Jon Gosselin.

Voter turnout was one per cent higher in the 2021 by-election than it was in the 2017 election.