DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – Incumbent Mike Bernier, of the B.C. Liberal Party, has been declared re-elected as the next MLA for Peace River South, according to the initial results of the 2020 Provincial General Election.

This is Bernier’s third term as MLA for Peace River South.

As of 9:45 p.m., October 24, Bernier was able to win the initial votes with 2,049 (53.51 percent), while Kathleen Connolly, of the B.C. Conservative Party, came in second with 1,159 votes (30.27 percent), and Cory Grizz Longley, of the B.C. NDP, in third with 497 votes, (12.98 percent). Dorothy Sharon Smith placed fourth with 124 votes (3.24 percent).

These results were based on 36 of 56 ballot boxes reported, as of 9:45 p.m. on Saturday, October 24.

Final votes may not be known until 13 days following the election day due to delays from mail-in and absentee ballots.

Keep up to date with B.C. Election coverage and results by visiting energeticcity.ca/election.