Give the Gift of Local News!

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – Players and members from the Fort St. John Huskies were recipients for six of the seven NWJHL 2018/2019 Awards.

The players and team members that received an award include:

  • Gary Loewen – MVP and Top Scorer
  • Aiden Craig-Steele – Rookie of the Year
  • Jared Loewen – Top Defenceman
  • Jonathan Bateman – Top Goaltender
  • Head Coach, Todd Alexander – Coach of the Year
NWJHL 2018/2019 Awards list. Source NWJHL

Huskies Head Coach, Todd Alexander, says his team put in a lot of work and is very proud of the team’s accomplishments this season.

“The boys put in a lot of work and a lot of effort. In order to be part of this program, I know sometimes we’re pretty demanding for what level that we’re at but we’re demanding for good reason. Not just for the obvious of being a better hockey team and better hockey players, but to be better people and more accountable for each other so that the program runs a lot better and has a better culture. The awards are definitely deserving towards the boys and, obviously, I’m proud of them for their accomplishments.”

The Huskies finished off the regular season in first place with 49 points, three points ahead of the Dawson Creek Canucks.

The Huskies will be off for a bit for some much-needed rest before they start playoffs in early March.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading!

This holiday season, give the gift of local news!

Our goal is to cover all the headlines and events happening in Northeast B.C. If you believe in this coverage, becoming a Supporter is a great way to help!

More stories you might like