VICTORIA, B.C. – BC NDP Leader and premier-designate John Horgan announced his leadership team on Tuesday afternoon.

Former BCIT President and Central 1 Credit Union CEO, Don Wright, will serve as Deputy Minister of Executive Council, Cabinet Secretary, and Head of the Public Service. Write will resign from Central 1, effective July 7 according to a release.

Vancouver City Councillor Geoff Meggs will serve as Chief of Staff to the Premier. Meggs has resigned from City Council in Vancouver to commit to working with the BC NDP full time.

Outgoing Chief of Staff and BC NDP Campaign Director, Bob Dewar, will stay on as Special Advisor to the Premier.

Spokesperson for the transition and Victoria-Beacon Hill MLA, Carole James, says the announcement of the leadership team is a signal that Horgan is wasting no time getting to work.

“John is getting to work for British Columbians by quickly putting together a capable leadership team,” said James. β€œHe’s already working hard to deliver on the commitments he made to British Columbians, and the skill and experience brought by Don and Geoff to these important positions will help make that change a reality.”