Support Fort St John News

In the SunLife Financial Division, Team Daylan Vavrek, of the Sexsmith Curling Club, jumped out to a commanding lead by scoring 5 in the first end.  Team Jordan Steinke of Dawson Creek was simply unable to overcome the early deficit.  Final score:  8-2  This is Team Vavrek’s first Tour Championship.  The team will be competing in the Alberta Boston Pizza Cup Men’s District playdowns next weekend.

Team Vavrek, Team Kurt Balderston and Team Colin Griffith have also qualified for the Pomeroy Inn & Suites Prairie Showdown $100,000 cash spiel at the Grande Prairie Curling Centre in March.

In the EnCana Challenge Division, Team Courtney Rossing of the Grande Prairie Curling Centre defeated Team Terry Sandnes of the Dawson Creek Curling Club 4 – 3.  The first tour final featuring 2 women’s teams was a close contest the entire was and was decided by a last rock hit and stick by Rossing in the final end.

In the Canwest Group Benefits Junior Division final, Layton Tremblay defeated Megan Smith, both of Fort St. John, 10 – 5.  This was Team Tremblay’s second tour championship and first victory.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading! is the voice of the Peace, bringing issues that matter to the forefront with independent journalism. Our job is to share the unique values of the Peace region with the rest of B.C. and make sure those in power hear us. From your kids’ lemonade stand to natural resource projects, we cover it – but we need your support. Give $10 a month to today and be the reason we can cover the next story. 

More stories you might like