Four people have been nominated as candidates to replace them, including Peace River Regional District Area E Director Jerrilyn Schembri, a former Tumbler Ridge councillor who came a very close second to Don McPherson in the byelection to replace Beale. She’s up against fellow former councillor Brenda Holmlund, and Tumbler Ridge residents Bev Litster and Chris Leggett. 

The polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Saturday, August 17 at the Tumbler Ridge Community Centre. Voters must be 18 years of age or older, and a Canadian citizen that has lived in B.C. for at least six months, and Tumbler Ridge for at least 30 days, or be an eligible non-resident property elector. Two pieces of identification, including one with a signature, is required, along with a non-resident property elector certificate if applicable. 

A byelection was held in the community in January 2013 to replace Councillor Doug Beale. Dawson Creek is also in the middle of a byelection to replace former Mayor Mike Bernier, who stepped down to serve as South Peace MLA. Chetwynd and Hudson’s Hope have also held byelections since 2001.