Four people have been nominated as candidates to replace them, include Peace River Regional District Area E Director Jerrilyn Schembri, a former Tumbler Ridge councillor who came a very close second to Don McPherson in the byelection to replace Beale. She’s up against fellow former councillor Brenda Holmlund, and Tumber Ridge residents Bev Litster and Chris Leggett. 

The byelection is set for Saturday, August 17, with voting from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Tumbler Ridge Community Centre. Advance polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Tumbler RidgeT own Hall on Wednesday, August 7 and Monday, August 12.

Dawson Creek is also in the middle of a byelection to replace former Mayor Mike Bernier, who stepped down to serve as South Peace MLA. Chetwynd and Hudson’s Hope have also held byelections since 2001.