They all shared a common message of how the support of this community helped them get to their success so far in life. 

“The Peace Region is the most supportive and encouraging place on Earth,” said Shore, summing up the feeling and atmosphere of the whole evening. 

The night began with the first two awards, given to Cheyenne Radcliffe as the Youth of the Year and the North Peace SPCA, recipient of the Humanitarian Award. Radcliffe is very busy in the community as a bowling coach, an Army Cadet, and was recently giver her silver Duke of Edinburgh Award. The North Peace SPCA’s volunteers have volunteered almost 4,500 hours for the branch, and spend numerous hours delivering programs to school children, organizing the Paws for a Cause dog walk, among other fundraisers. 

The next awards were given to Russell Eggleston as the Cultural Person of the Year and Jean McFadden, recipient of the Literacy Award. Eggleston is known around the community as working tirelessly to promote and celebrate the local arts scene, and McFadden, the executive director for the Fort St. John Literacy Society, goes out of her way to promote awareness of literacy of the community.

Lastly, the final two awards of the night went to Connie Richter as the Recreation Person of the Year, and Adam Horst, named the Mayor’s Citizen of the Year. Richter has been a curling coach at many levels up to provincials, and she is an ambassador for the Sports Council and KidSport. It was only fitting that Horst received his award after a speech in which he praised the amount of support he has received the community through funding and advice on his route to becoming one of the top ten Crashed Ice competitors in the world.

 Mayor Lori Ackerman rounded out the night by calling FortSt. John a “springboard for success”, which was clearly evidenced by the accomplishments of its residents. 

“If you’re looking for success, it’s yours if you can reach out and grab it,” she said. 

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees from Moose FM and

More photos from the evening are below: