Chetwynd gearing up for by-election

Hudson's Hope Mayor Karen Anderson also stepped down in late 2012, leading to the election of Gwen Johannson and two new councillors in December, and a by-election was held for a new councillor in Tumbler Ridge in January 2013 to replace Doug Beale.

It was announced last week that there are five candidates looking to fill Harris' position: Sandra Leer, Ross Roberts, Darren Shankel, Bob Shirley and Larry Vezina. Candidates have until 4 p.m. this afternoon to withdraw their candidacy, and the official election declaration will be made this Monday.
The by-election is scheduled to take place on April 13, with voting from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the District Office. Advance polls will also be held on April 3 and 10 again from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the District Office.


Have something you'd like to add? Read our comment policy by clicking here.

About Erica Fisher 4010 Articles

Erica is a reporter for Moose FM and in Fort St. John, B.C. She grew up in Victoria, B.C. and received her Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism from Concordia University in Montreal, Quebec.