In the event’s SunLife Competitive Division, Team Graham Powell of Grande Prairie defeated Dawson Creek’s Team Jordan Steinke 7-2.

Team Steinke jumped out to a quick 1-0 lead, scoring the match’s first point in the second end. However, Team Powell took their first lead of the finals in the third end, scoring two, to take a 2-1 lead. The back-and-forth match continued in the fourth end, when another lone point scored by Steinke produced a 2-2 tie.

That tie didn’t last long, as Powell went on to score one point in the fifth, two in the sixth and seventh, producing a final score of 7-2 to emerge victorious in the competitive division.

In the Cash Spiel’s EnCana Challenge Division, a much closer final produced a 7-5 victory for Grande Prairie’s Team Caryl Sallows over Team Devin Burkitt. It was a close match for the first five ends, with Sallows scoring single points in ends one, three and five, while Burkitt scored singles in ends two and four, producing a 3-2 score entering the sixth end.

The sixth end is when the offensive production picked up, with Sallows scoring a big three points, taking a 6-2 lead into the seventh. However, Burkitt responded well in the end, scoring three points of their own, bringing the score to 6-5 entering the final frame.

In the seventh and final frame, Team Sallows used the hammer to their advantage, scoring the lone point of the frame, securing themselves a Cash Spiel championship win 7-5.

Following three legs of the Peace Curling Tour, Team Kurt Balderston of Sexsmith leads the SunLife Competitive Division with 35 points, followed by Graham Powell with 31, and Dawson Creek’s Tracy Steinke in third with 23 points.

In the Encana Challenge Division Standings, Sexsmith’s Karen Powell sits in first with 25 points, followed by a three-way tie for second including Darren Turcotte of Falher, and Caryl Sallows and Delia DeJong, both from Grande Prairie.

Fort St. John’s Jodi Busche and Bob Copper sit tied for fifth in the standings with 19 points each.

The Tour Championships will be played in Sexsmith from January 18-20, and below is a list of teams that have qualified for both divisions.

SunLife Competitive Division:

Kurt Balderston (Sexsmith Curling Club), Graham Powell (Sexsmith Curling Club), Tracy Steinke (Dawson Creek Curling Club), Mark Pillsworth (Grande Prairie Curling Club), Jordan Steinke (Dawson Creek Curling Club), Daylan Vavrek (Sexsmith Curling Club), Jeff Ginter (Dawson Creek Curling Club).

A one-game playoff will be played between Darrel Viener (Dawson Creek) and Mark Zahacy (High Prairie) to determine the 8th qualifier.

Team Balderston is the three-time defending champion.

EnCana Challenge Division:

Karen Powell (Sexsmith Curling Club), Darren Turcotte (Falher Curling Club), Caryl Sallows (Grande Prairie Curling Club), Delia DeJong (Grande Prairie Curling Club), Devin Burkitt (Hudson’s Hope), Jodi Busche (Fort St. John Curling Club), Bob Cooper (Fort St. John Curling Club), Don Dumont (Falher Curling Club)

Team Burkitt is the defending champion.