Support local news and get a FREE mug!

Following seven qualifying heats, the Derby’s Main Event was won by Jarret Bonn, who emerged as a repeat winner, also placing first in last year’s event. Bonn took home a cool $1,000 for his destruction supremacy.

Second place in the Main Event went to Stacey Patriquin, while Bud Talbot placed third in this year’s Derby.

The event also handed out a variety of consolation awards. First fire went to Dallas Bean, Best Appearing was awarded to Bud Talbot, Stacey Patriquin won the Drag Wars, David Lawton Jr. took home the Grudge Match award while Stacey Patriquin continued to hit the winners sheet by claiming the Crowd Pleaser award.

Each of the consolation winners took home $100 for their victories.

Stockcar races will resume at the Taylor Speedway July 21 and 22, when the track hosts the Mini Stock Challenge.

For more information on the Taylor Speedway or any of its upcoming events, visit the track’s official website.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading!

Our goal is to cover all the local news and events happening in Northeast B.C. If you believe in this coverage, becoming a Supporter is a great way to help!

As a Supporter, you also get our investigative stories early and a FREE mug!

More stories you might like