Support local news and get a FREE mug!

25 riders hit the pavement Thursday evening, with 19 of those riders breaking their yearly personal best times.

Heather McCracken registered the greatest time improvement for the women, shedding 3:15 from her original time to win the women’s side. Davide Loro improved his time by 1:58 to win the men’s.

Tanner McCracken took first in the 8 km most improved, with a time of 7:04.

2007 National Road Champion, Jon Wood of Edmonton, was the fastest rider of the evening, finishing first with a time of 22:23.

Irvin Tang placed second behind Wood with a time 24:26, while Kevin Shaw rounded out third place at 25:24.

This Sunday, June 10, the Blizzard Bike Club will be celebrating its 30th anniversary by holding two races as well as a BBQ.

They will meet at the Baldonnel School at 5 p.m., with riders hitting the bikes at 6 p.m. for a traditional 16 k time trial.

Following the time trial will be a potluck barbeque, which will be held at the school gym.

The festivities don’t stop Saturday, as Sunday, June 11, riders will race in a road race and team race, which will also be starting from the Baldonnel School. There will once again be snacks afterwards, also at the school.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading!

Our goal is to cover all the local news and events happening in Northeast B.C. If you believe in this coverage, becoming a Supporter is a great way to help!

As a Supporter, you also get our investigative stories early and a FREE mug!

More stories you might like