Support local news and get a FREE mug!

Some of the awards earned include:

Dexter Keith – Rookie Cowboy of the Year award

Tommi-Sue Little – Rookie Cowgirl of the Year and Barrel Racing Champion

Chance Bolin – Reverse Champion Cowboy and the number one ranking in the province for Chute Dogging.

Derek Hadland and Jenna Heibert – Provincial Ribbon Roping Champions.

Chance Bolin and Keatton Collet – Team Roping Champions.

Along with a variety of individual awards, a group of competitors from the North Zone earned themselves spots to represent the Province at the upcoming National Championship, taking place at the end of June Gallop, New Mexico.

The northern competitors heading to New Mexico include Jenna Heibert, Keatton Collet, Derek Hadland, Tommi-Sue Little, Dexter Keith and Jordan Wolsley.

The upcoming National Championship will feature riders and their horses from four Canadian provinces, 46 American States as well as riders from Australia.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading!

Our goal is to cover all the local news and events happening in Northeast B.C. If you believe in this coverage, becoming a Supporter is a great way to help!

As a Supporter, you also get our investigative stories early and a FREE mug!

More stories you might like