Give the Gift of Local News!

Nesbitt finished the 2km run, 10 km bike ride then another 2 km run with an impressive time of 31:19, setting a new course record with his time.

After a week one victory, Irvin Tang placed second in the series’ second race, crossing the finish line with a time of 32:24, while Gord Harris finished the race in third at 37:06.

In the female division, Sandy McDonald placed first for the second consecutive race, with a time of 38:05. Second place went to Celeste Pakstas with a time of 39:44 and rounding out third place was Norma Webster at 42:19.

After the conclusion of week two Irvin Tang leads the trophy series with a total of 9 points in the men’s division, while Sandy McDonald and her perfect score of 10 points lead the ladies.

The event also featured an abbreviated race with a 1 km run, 8 km bike ride and 1 km run to finish, which was won by Tania Bell at 28:56. Sheena Briggs placed second in the race at 30:31 and Dian Loro third with a time of 36:19.

The third Duathlon of the five race series will take place the evening of Tuesday, May 15, beginning at 7 p.m.

For more information on the Blizzard Bike Club or any of its upcoming events, visit the Club’s official website.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading!

This holiday season, give the gift of local news!

Our goal is to cover all the headlines and events happening in Northeast B.C. If you believe in this coverage, becoming a Supporter is a great way to help!

More stories you might like