This holiday season, all of our Supporters are entered to win an $800 Shopping Spree Giveaway!

The award distribution began with the Rookie of the Year award, which was handed out to the hard hitting defenceman Payden Wongstedt.

The next award went to the players who were able to put the biscuit in the basket the most over the season. The award of Top Scorer was split this season, with co-winners being Todd Alexander and Jeff Fast. Both forwards finished the year with 18 points, with Fast’s stat line reading 7 goals and 11 assists, and Alexander scoring 10 goals and chipping in with 8 assists.

It was a double dose of recognition for Jeff Fast, who also took home the Regular Season MVP honours.

The team award for Top Defensive Player was given to Bryan Lewis, who played in his seventh season with the team this year.

The Most Popular Player award went to a net minder this year, as goaltender Troy Hunt received this year’s honours.

The Flyers Most Dedicated Player award was designated to Paul Wiens, who played in all 14 games in his eighth season with the Flyers. 

The team’s Most Gentlemanly Player was awarded to first time Flyer David Burke, who finished his first season with the team with only 4 penalty minutes in 12 games played.

Finally, the awards shifted to the post season, where the Playoff MVP award was won by Todd Alexander.

Following the distribution of awards, Coach Darryl Leahy spoke about the season and the early exit from the Savage Cup, saying “I was disappointed by the loss in the Savage Cup, but not by the effort put forward this season.”

After losing the Savage Cup for the first time in 6 years, next year the Flyers will be looking for a shot at redemption to book themselves a trip to the Allan Cup.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading!

This holiday season, we want to give back to the people who have supported us this year!

We have partnered with local businesses to create an $800 Shopping Spree Giveaway! One of our Supporters will win the giveaway on December 2 and anyone who becomes one by December 1 will be entered to win as well.

More stories you might like