Support local news and get a FREE mug!

Richter completed Sunday’s Peace View Circuit with a time of 1:16:54 to earn his first place finish. 2010 event winner Kevin Shaw placed second in the race, crossing the finish line at 1:22:38, with Chris Wagner coming in third at 1:42:14.

It was a disappointing day for Blizzard Bike Club veteran Pat Ferris, who was forced to withdraw from the race due to mechanical problems.

Celeste Pakstas once again took first in the women’s event, completing the one-lap race in 50:40 minutes.

Bob Andrews won first place in the abbreviated 25 km distance, finishing first at 44:34 minutes. Gord Harris placed second in this event at 45:15 while Barb Polehoykie was the third person to cross the finish line, with a time of 45:44.

Following the completion of the 8 stages in this year’s Spring Stage Race, Kevin Shaw reclaimed another series victory with an overall points lead of 29. Irvin Tang finished second in the whole event 23 and George Gamble third at 18.

Celeste Pakstas won the Women’s Spring Stage race with an impressive perfect score of 35 points. Barb Polehoykie finished the overall event second with 20 points and Dian Loro third with 9.

For the second year in a row, Kelsey Young was the winner of the Under 19 division, repeating last year’s victory with 10 points.

Bike club members will have four days to clean the mud off their bikes, as the next race for the Blizzard Bike Club will take place Thursday, April 19 for a Baldonnel time trial, beginning at 6:30 p.m.

For more information on the Blizzard Bike Club or any of its upcoming events, visit the Club’s official website.

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading!

Our goal is to cover all the local news and events happening in Northeast B.C. If you believe in this coverage, becoming a Supporter is a great way to help!

As a Supporter, you also get our investigative stories early and a FREE mug!

More stories you might like