In Dawson Creek, 262 residents cast their ballots during their second advanced opportunity on Wednesday. A total of 480 advanced votes were received, only slightly more than the 460 received in the last civic election in 2008.

Dawson Creek voters will be going to the polls on Saturday to elect six city councillors from a field of 15 candidates, as well as two trustees to the board of School District 59 from a field of three candidates. Voting takes place between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. at the EnCana Events Centre.

Pouce Coupe held its first advanced voting opportunity on Wednesday, and 17 voters participated. Village residents will choose a mayor from two candidates running for that seat, as well as four councillors from a list of five candidates. Voting takes place at the Village Office from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The second advanced voting day in Tumbler Ridge was on Monday, and 59 voters participated, for a total of 116 ballots cast during both days. Tumbler Ridge has two candidates running for mayor and eight candidates running for six seats on district council. Tumbler Ridge voters will cast their ballots tomorrow in Room 5 of the Community Centre between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Two days of advanced voting wrapped up on Wednesday in the District of Chetwynd, and 87 residents cast votes to elect a mayor and council. Tomorrow, the remainder of Chetwynd voters will go to the polls to elect a mayor from two candidates running for that seat, and six district councillors from a field of nine candidates. Voting will take place at the Municipal Office between 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. There will also be a special voting opportunity at 1 p.m. tomorrow at the Chetwynd General Hospital for staff and patients who are eligible voters.

The Municipal Office in Chetwynd also acted as a polling station for Electoral Area E on both advanced voting days, and 19 voters total participated from the rural area. The Peace River Regional District office in Dawson Creek was the other advanced voting station for that area, and five voters cast ballots, for a total of 24 votes cast from Electoral Area E on both days. Voters from that area will elect a director to the regional district board from two candidates running.

The regional district office was also an advanced voting station for Electoral Area D, and 52 voters participated. Faye Salisbury, chief election officer for the Peace River Regional District, said that was a “pretty good turnout” for Area D, and she attributes the fact that voters no longer have to submit a sworn statement about why they can’t participate in the general election day to take part in advanced voting as a reason for the increased turnout. Area D voters will elect a regional director from one of three candidates running.

Voters in Electoral Areas D and E can cast their votes from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the following locations:

Electoral Area ‘D’

Bessborough Hall, 6888 243 Road, Bessborough, BC;

Cutbank Community Hall, Fellers Heights, BC;

Deveraux Elementary School, 4584 208 Road, Arras, BC;

Doe River Hall, 3816 Rolla Road, Doe River, BC;

Kelly Lake Community Centre, 107 Kelly Lake Road, Kelly Lake, BC;

Parkland Elementary School, 5104 Parkland Road, Farmington, BC;

Peace River Regional District office, 1981 Alaska Avenue, Dawson Creek, BC

Pouce Coupe Community Centre, 5010 52 Avenue, Pouce Coupe, BC;

Rolla Traditional School, 5167 405 Street, Rolla, BC;

Tate Creek Community Hall, 15439 Frontage Road, Tomslake, BC; and

Tower Lake Hall, 5018 226 Road, Tower Lake, BC.


Electoral Area ‘E’

Chetwynd District office boardroom, 5400 North Access Road, Chetwynd, BC;

Jackfish Community Hall, 1515 Old Jackfish Road, Jackfish, BC;

McLeod Elementary School/Community Hall, 8025 265 Road, Groundbirch, BC;

Moberly Lake Community Hall, 6494 Lakeshore Drive, Moberly Lake, BC; and

Peace River Regional District office, 1981 Alaska Avenue, Dawson Creek, BC.


Mile 0 City encourages all eligible voters in the South Peace to make their voices heard by casting their ballots tomorrow, unless they have already done so. Check back with Mile 0 City tomorrow evening for the election results, which will begin to be reported shortly after 8 p.m. when the polls close.