On Oct. 27, the Peace Curling Association announced that this year’s Pomeroy Inn and Suites Peace Curling Championships will be held in Sexsmith, AB from January 20-22, 2012.

20 teams will earn entries into the Tour Championships through play in the three cash spiels and four super leagues, which will be held in Fort St. John, Dawson Creek, Grande Prairie and Sexsmith.

The Pomeroy Inn and Suites Championships include three divisions, the Sun Life Competitive Division (8 teams), The Encana Challenge Division (8 teams) and the CanWest Group Benefits Junior Division (4 teams).

The cash spiel starts this weekend in Grande Prairie, and will then be in Fort St. John from Nov. 11-13 for the Rhyason Contracting, Tidy Trucking Cash Spiel. The Cash Spiel Circuit will then conclude in Dawson Creek on Nov. 25-27 with the Mile Zero Open.

The tournament also includes four super league tournaments, one of which, the Alaska Highway Super League, will be taking place soon in Fort St. John and Dawson. This portion of the tournament has already begun.

10 teams will qualify for the Tour Championship by earning points through play in the cash spiels, 5 in each of the competitive and challenge divisions. Six teams qualify through the super leagues, one in each league of the competitive and challenge divisions.

Three teams qualify in the junior division through the cash spiel circuit and one team qualifies through the juvenile super league.

The Cash Spiel’s first tour event runs from today, Friday, Oct.28-30, with the Q99 Grande Prairie Cash Spiel. The tournament hits the ice at 1:30 p.m. at the Grande Prairie Curling Club and features curlers from all across the Peace Region.