The ceremony was held at the Pomeroy Hotel Saturday night, with 20 local Aboriginals taking home awards.

Awards for academic achievement and community involvement were handed out, with the Aboriginal of the Year Award going to Kathy Dickie. All of the award winners were nominated by their peers, as local First Nations sponsored by NENAS.

The event ended with a comedy show by Don Burnstick, an Aboriginal comedian, and featured local First Nations musicians, dancers, artists, stage designers, photographers, hair and make-up artists and event coordinator.