Today (Thursday) is the last day to nominate a local person or company for the Fort St. John Community Awards.

The awards are used to both recognize and pay tribute to individuals or businesses that have made significant contributions to the city.

There are numerous awards for which people can be nominated, including the environmental benefactor of the year award, the accessibility award, social action and justice award, volunteer of the year award and the mayor’s awards of excellence.

An awards gala will then be held on April 7 at the Pomeroy Hotel. Tickets for the gala can be purchased at the Visitor Centre or at City Hall. The tickets are $30 per person or $200 for a table for eight people.

The nomination form can be viewed below. Completed nomination forms can either be dropped off at City Hall at 10637 100 St. or emailed to

Some of the 2010 awards and winners were:

Accessibility Award – Totem Mall
Cultural Diversity Award – Lisett Godoy
Art & Culture Person of the Year Award – Russell Eggleston
Athlete of the Year Award Youth Female – Brittany Bakstaad
Athlete of the Year Award Youth Male – Kayne Dressler