One year later, British Columbia is honouring the athletes that won medals at the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter games.

The Province will proclaim days for every British Columbian athlete who medaled during both the Olympic and Paralympic games which took place in Vancouver last year.

Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance Colin Hansen, says “our Olympians and Paralympians have left us with lifelong memories and helped to inspire our youth to pursue their dreams.”

Maelle Ricker marks the first to be honoured and Feb. 16 will now be known as Maelle Ricker day. Ricker won gold in Women’s Snowboard Cross and was the first female athlete to win gold at an Olympic games hosted by Canada. She was also the first British Columbian to win a medal during the 2010 Winter Olympics.

Ashley McIvor day is set to occur on Feb. 23 and Fort St. John native Denny Morrison will share a day with Chris Le Bihan on Feb. 27.

British Columbian Members of the Canadian Men’s gold medal winning hockey team such as Duncan Keith, Scott Niedermayer, Brent Seabrook, Roberto Luongo and Shea Weber will all share honours on Feb. 28.

Josh Duek and Lindsay Debou day is on Mar. 13. Lauren Woolstencroft and Karolina Wisniewska will share Mar. 15. Ina Forrest, Jim Armstrong, Sonja Gaudet and Darryl Neighbor will all share their day on Mar. 20.

Finally, the Olympic and Paralympic Blue Jacket Volunteers will have their own day as well which is designated for Mar. 21.