Grande Prairie has a new mayor following a closely contested race, in yesterday’s municipal elections in Alberta.

Three term alderman Bill Given, beat incumbent Dwight Logan, by 153 votes, 3,451 to 3,298.

He says “It was such a close race, I didn’t want to believe it until the very end, and until somebody told me that was all the polls . . .”

When the shell-shock wore off, he conceded, he and those on the new city council will have their work cut out for them.

All returning incumbent City Council members were re-elected in the top four. Leading the polls was Alderman Lorne Radbourne with 5,808. Alderman Dan Wong had 5,577 ballots cast in his favour.Alderman Helen Rice had 5,273 votes and Alex Gustafson had 4,622.

Following the incumbent members were Justin Munroe and Kevin McLean with 3,771 and 3,289 votes respectively. Former two-term Alderman John Croken returned to Council with 3,214 votes and Kevin O’Toole claimed the eighth seat with 3,165 votes.

 For more election results, visit the Grande Prairie Herald Tribune website.