Jay Morrison leads BBC to Challenge Cup


Jay Morrison led the Blizzard Bike Club to the 2010 Challenge Cup on Sunday.

The former national-team speed skater edged out Kevin Shaw and Tanner Broadbent to win the 50 km ‘Race of the Fallen Leaves’ with a time of 1:34:41. Roger St. Jean was 4th with a time of 1:39:59, Richard Wood was 5th at 1:41:22, and Wim Kok was 6th at 1:42:36.

The 30km race was won by Francis Plum of Grande Prairie with a time of 1:05:28. Sam
Keats was 2nd at 1:06:05, Ken Nix was 3rd at 1:09:26, Adam Currie was 4th at 1:10:33, Larry Joice was 5th at 1:16:03, and Ken Lane was 6th also at 1:16:03.

The Blizzard Bike Club trailed the Grande Prairie Wheelers by a single point heading into Sunday’s finale, but Morrison and a solid contingent ensured that Fort St. John would retain the intercity crown.

Photo: Sandy McDonald presents Jay Morrison with the "Race of the Fallen Leaves." Photo by Larry Joyce.

Do you have a news tip or a story idea?

Send it our way!

This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.