Support Fort St John News

Photo: Courtney Thompson, Zach Dowd and David Neil receive the Real Estate Foundation of BC Awards from Aaron Braaten – Submitted.

By staff

More than $40,000 in awards, scholarships and bursaries were presented to Northern Lights College students last week.

Around 60 students received the awards, which were presented to students enrolled at NLC’s Fort St. John Campus.

Many of the awards are memorial awards, while other awards are sponsored by community groups, businesses, and individuals. The awards are administered by the NLC Foundation.

Below is a full list of award recipients:

· Zach Dowd (Association of BC Land Surveyors Northern Group Regional Geomatics Scholarship, Blake and Tyler Peck Memorial Award, Morris Bahm Memorial Award Outdoor Studies, Northern Trust Bursary, Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)

· Robert Belcourt (Dave Johnson Memorial Endowment, Oil and Gas Commission Award, Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)

· Bren Gage (Alaska Highway News Award, David Bradley Science Award)

· Raven Huyton (NLC Fort St. John Student Council Award, Paul Dampier Student Leadership Award)

· Maureen Edomwonyi (Dave Johnson Academic Studies Award, Fort St. John Elks Lodge #288 Award)

· Courtney Thompson (Dave Johnson Memorial Award, Talisman Land and Resource Management Award)

· Robert Davie (Devon Canada Corp./Dave Johnson Memorial Scholarship, BP Canada Energy Oil and Gas Field Operations Award)

· Amber Penner (Devon Canada Corp. Aboriginal Award, Conoco Phillips Canada Award Aboriginal)

· Adam Gamble (Fort St. John Community Arts Council Art Award, Milton John Best Memorial Award)

· Susan Phillips (Fort St. John Elks Lodge #288, Fred den Ouden Memorial Award)

· Aaron Banks (Fort St. John LAND Transport Award, Swanberg Brothers Trucking Ltd. Commercial Transport Award)

· Julie Nixon Vander Linden (Fort St. John NLC Staff Award, Finning Canada Award)

· Monica Russell (Pembina Pipeline Corp. Land and Resource Management Award, Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)

· Tyler Jankowski (Harley Lindley Memorial)

· Erin Svisdahl (Heritage North Consulting Ltd/Jimmy Fields Memorial Award)

· Tiffany Butt (Lucille Sutherland Award)

· Tracey Fletcher (Morris Bahm Memorial Literacy Award)

· Michael Smale (Northern BC Truckers Award/Commercial Transport Technician)

· Graham Utz (NLC Business Management Award)

· Eugene Hyun (NLC Fort St. John Student Council Award)

· Obinna Uzodimma (NLC Fort St. John Student Council Award)

· Ernie Kim (NLC Fort St. John Student Council Award)

· Sara Lang (North Peace Savings and Credit Union Business Management Award)

· Lenore Mallis (Petro-Canada Scholarship in Land and Resource Management)

· Brett McLean (Fort St. John Lions Club Award)

· Selena Munzel (Fort St. John Lions Club Award)

· Natalie Ronse (Pacific Horizons Scholarship)

· Brandi Schepers (Pacific Horizons Scholarship)

· Alyssa Irvine (Swanberg Brothers Trucking Ltd. Applied Business Technology Award)

· Xuelu Wang (Westcoast Energy Instrumentation Achievement Award)

· Leann Matheson (BP Canada Energy Industrial Instrument Mechanics Foundation Trades Award)

· Helen Knott (Dominion Energy Canada Ltd. Award Aboriginal)

· Dianne Stewart (Early Childhood Educators of BC Award)

· Laurel Clayton (Early Childhood Education Book Award)

· Elaine German (Johnny Tashoots Memorial Award)

· Jessica Atchison (Minerva Foundation for BC Women Award Aboriginal)

· Bryan Gage (NLC 25/35 Anniversary Achievement Award)

· Brianne Cairns (Northern Institute for Resource Studies Award)

· Kristina Dressler-Stone (Peace River District Women’s Institute Award)
· David Neil (Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)

· Chris Razeau (Suncor Energy Foundation Award)

· Robert St. Denis (Talisman Career and College Preparation Award Aboriginal)

· John Pajor (Talisman Oil and Gas Field Operations Award Aboriginal)

· Bill Preston (Talisman Power Engineering and Gas Processing Award)

· Zhi Bo Liu (BC Hydro Scholarship)

· Kathryn Zimmerman (Northern Metalic Tool Box Award)

· Jennifer Allen (Canadian Forest Products Award)

· Kendra Lamb (Adult Basic Education Association of BC)

· Vasily Petkyuk (Association of BC Land Surveyors Northern Group Regional Geomatics Scholarship)

· Becky Bruvold (Dave Johnson Memorial Endowment)

· Denise Menard (David Crowle Memorial Award)

· Sarah McKenzie (Teck Cominco Award)

· Breanne Boettcher (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Jaime Brown (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Deanne Cope (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Bailie Copeland (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Joe Fenner (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Edward Franks (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Devon Klassen (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Jesse Logeman (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Ramona McAdie (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Candace Peever (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Dayle Peters (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Valerie Fieber (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Ryan Gulka (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Karen Scott (Vancouver Foundation Award)

· Matthew Stewart (Vancouver Foundation Award)

Report an error

Read our guiding principles

Thanks for reading! is the voice of the Peace, bringing issues that matter to the forefront with independent journalism. Our job is to share the unique values of the Peace region with the rest of B.C. and make sure those in power hear us. From your kids’ lemonade stand to natural resource projects, we cover it – but we need your support. Give $10 a month to today and be the reason we can cover the next story. 

More stories you might like