Photo: During the celebration, the Girl Guides put on a fashion show to showcase Girl Guide uniforms from over the years – Adam Reaburn/Energeticcity.ca
Girl Guides in Fort St. John got together Saturday and celebrated 80 years of guiding in the North Peace.
In November 1929, Mrs. Monica Stores enrolled the first group of girls in Girl Guides at a school located in East Fort St. John, which is now know as Baldonnel. In 1931, Girl Guides expand to more rural areas including Cecil Lake, Dawson Creek and more.
During the celebratory tea at the Royal Canadian Legion, Alene Peck was recognized as one of the first girls to join Girl Guides in Fort St. John. She started in Girl Guides back in 1931.
Earlier this year the group closed the Girl Guides Thrift Shop after 48 years of operation in the community. Funds from the shop went to run Camp Darnall on Charlie Lake.
To date, the Girl Guides continue to grow in Fort St. John with 92 girls registered and over 30 adults volunteering their time.