Flyers in action this week

The Senior Flyers are hoping the Lefley brothers will make for a better Hythe team.

An updated NPHL schedule sees the Flyers facing the Mustangs, Dawson Creek Senior Canucks, and Grande Prairie Athletics six times each.   The changes were made necessary after the Spirit River Rangers folded in October.  The Rangers didn’t have enough players show up to training camp to ice a team this season.  For those who did want to play, it meant finding new teams.  The Flyers took advantage when they signed former WHL’er Donny Lloyd.  Mike and Colin Lefley have reportedly agreed to play in Hythe, while others, including Mark Wallman, will join the Grande Prairie Athletics.

The Flyers were already looking at a reduced schedule, after agreeing to play only teams from the NPHL’s West Division.  Fort St. John will play 18 regular season games, and will not be part of the league playoffs this year. 

The Flyers have already opened their season, with a 5-4 overtime win over Grande Prairie on Oct. 17th.  The next weekend, they headed to Stony Plain and Onion Lake, Sk. for ‘AAA’ matchups against the Chinook Hockey League’s Eagles and Lloydminster Border Kings.

The good news for the Flyers, is that they have avoided a potential 3-week layoff that had been a possible result of the Spirit River fold.

The new Flyers schedule is as follows:

1. Sat., Oct. 17 GRANDE PRAIRIE (5-4 Flyers O.T. win)

2. Thu., Nov. 5 at Grande Prairie

3. Fri., Nov. 6 at Hythe

4. Thu., Nov. 19 at Dawson Creek

5. Sat., Nov. 21 HYTHE

6. Thu., Nov. 26 at Hythe

7. Sat., Dec. 5 at Dawson Creek

8. Thu., Dec. 10 at Grande Prairie

9. Fri., Dec. 18 GRANDE PRAIRIE

10. Thu., Jan. 7 DAWSON CREEK

11. Fri., Jan 8 HYTHE

12. Thu., Jan. 14 at Dawson Creek

13. Sat., Jan 16 HYTHE

14. Thu., Jan. 21 at Hythe

15. Sat., Jan. 23 DAWSON CREEK

16. Sat., Jan. 30 at Grande Prairie

17. Thu., Feb. 4 DAWSON CREEK

18. Sat., Feb. 6 GRANDE PRAIRIE

Moose FM will be broadcasting the following road games:

Nov. 19th @ Dawson Creek

Dec. 10 @ Grande Prairie

Jan. 14th @ Dawson Creek

Jan. 21st @ Hythe

Jan. 30th @ Grande Prairie